Of fairytales

You have probably caught onto the fact that my brother and I are very close. He has a way of making me feel like I owe him sometimes – it’s a little infuriating, but I don’t mind.

So one day we were researching mystical creatures or something, I don’t quite remember why, and he asked me to draw a mermaid. Since they’re imaginary (my personal belief) it was really hard to find a picture or anything to go off. Where the human stops and the fish begins is difficult to define. Even when it seems obvious on the outside one has to focus on the inside. “Are there hips?” and “Is there a pelvis?” are really the big questions. Alright, enough excuses, this is what I came up with:

Mermaid

Honestly, I wish I had made it longer/taller. If you’re going with fantasy, go all the way! I plan to do another one, possibly more dramatic, maybe with a bit of a different take on how it should look…we’ll see.

I’d like to take this opportunity to note that if you’re seeing the dates on these pictures, yes, some of them are out of order. I did a lot at the beginning of 2014 and it’s hard to remember which came first. The points remain, I had no experience, I was learning anatomy as I went along, and my style developed over the short time that I’ve been sketching. We’ll see where it leads…

I do believe I am happy with my impression of this mystical creature.

Comment on this post

