Down to earth

Downward facing dog: probably the most recognized yoga pose of all time.

When I first started out practicing yoga, I found this extremely difficult, painful, uncomfortable, and I couldn’t bear to hold it for more than a moment before my arms gave way. NOW, after several years of dedication and enlightenment with regard to my practice and being taught the correct form, I appreciate it for its true nature: a resting pose after a tough set; a stepping stone to a standing series; a good stretch for the back of the legs; a reset.

Down dog is supposed to look like an inverted V. This doesn’t show it quite as neatly as I’d like, but then again, every human form is different, so I can’t expect perfection.

Down dog

This one isn’t too bad, it embodies the pose well, I think. The feet are disjointed and the rib cage is a little too ‘swirly’ to be accurate. BUT, don’t let that get in the way – the spine is beautiful, the arms are perfect.

I do believe I am happy with this one.

One comment

Comment on this post

