Opening up

I actually have another sketch that I did between the last one and this one, but it’s not yoga-related so I’m going to wait to post it until I feel I’ve finished my yoga series. Sorry! Be patient, it’s a virtue.

This pose is called Side Angle, or in sanskrit: utthita parsvakonasana. šŸ™‚ A mouthful I know. That’s why we call it side angle.

You can optionally extend the arm – how I depicted it here – which allows the side body to really open up. It’s a lovely pose that really helps stretch you out. I’m usually sitting at my desk for the majority of the day, and after a long day of sinking deeper into your chair and yourself, a good opener like this is perfect.

Side Angle

A note on my style: I’ve noticed the intricacy of my last few drawings, and realized that they are lacking the sketchy quality that I love. So I’m really loosening up again and reminding myself that sometimes it’s okay to color outside the lines!

This is exciting, folks – we are current! I drew this side angle sketch THIS WEEK! So what you’re seeing now are the real deal, here and now, as they come to me. Enjoy!

I do believe I am happy with this guy.

Comment on this post

